FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE --- The Rimington Trophy Committee has released its 2014 Spring Watch List, which includes 64 of the best centers in Division I football. The athletes included on this list have demonstrated excellence at the center position in the past and are predicted to do so again in the 2014-2015 season.

The following is a list of those named to the 2014 Spring Watch List:

First Name  Last Name  School Class Height  Weight

Alex Mateas  Connecticut RS Senior  6'4 309

Alex Huettel Bowling Green RS Junior 6'3 292

Andy  Gallik Boston College Senior 6'3 302

Artie  Rowell Pittsburgh Junior  6'2  305

Austin Reiter USF Senior 6'3 286

Austin Barron Florida State Senior  6'3 292

Austin Blythe Iowa  Junior  6'3 290

B.J.  Finney  Kansas State Senior  6'4 303

Betim Bujari Rutgers Senior 6'4 295

Braden  Lyons  Florida Atlantic Senior  6'5 295

Brandon Vitabile  Northwestern Senior  6'3 300

Bryce  Redman Houston Senior  6'1 285

Bryce  Giddens  Arkansas State Junior  5'11 300

Chris  Jasperse  Marshall Senior  6'4 289

Cody Waldrop South Carolina RS Soph 6'2 315

Collin Rahrig Indiana RS Senior  6'2 290

Dan Voltz Wisconson  Soph 6'3 313

David Peterson San Jose State Senior  6'5 297

David  Andrews Georgia Senior  6'2 295

Deyshawn Bond Cincinnatti Soph 6'2 296

Dillon Day  Mississippi State Senior  6'4 300

Dominic  Espinosa  Texas Senior  6'4 305

Donald  Senat  FIU Senior  6'2 285

Dylan Foxworth Tulsa RS Soph 6'2 280

Edward  Fusi BYU Senior  6'0 317

Elliott Porter  LSU Senior  6'4 300

Evan Boehm Missouri Junior 6'3 315

Graham Shuler Stanford Junior  6'4 282

Greg  Mancz Toledo Senior  6'5 300

Hroniss Grasu Oregon Senior 6'3 297

Isaac Seumalo Oregon State Junior 6'3 305

Jack  Allen Michigan State Junior 6'1 300

Jake Smith Louisville Senior  6'3 307

Jake Brendel UCLA Junior  6'4 285

Joe Townsend  Vanderbilt Senior  6'4 310

Joey Grant UCF RS Junior  6'2 291

Joey  Hunt TCU Junior  6'3 295

Jon Toth Kentucky Soph 6'5 298

Jon  Hoffing Western Mich. Senior  6'4 285

Jordan Smith San Diego State Junior  6'5 285

Kyle  Friend  Temple Junior 6'2 305

LaMar  Bratton New Mexico Senior  6'0 291

Mark Pelini Nebraska Senior  6'0 290

Matt Skura  Duke RS Junior  6'4 290

Matt Galas Nevada Senior 6'1 280

Max Garcia  Florida  RS Senior  6'4 311

Michael Husar Air Force Junior  6'0 275

Mike  Criste  Washington Senior  6'6 318

Mike  Matthews Texas A&M Junior 6'2 285

Nick Beamish  Central Mich. Senior  6'3 310

Nick Martin Notre Dame  Senior  6'4.5 295

Reese  Dismukes  Auburn Senior  6'3 297

Robert  Kugler  Purdue Junior  6'3 290

Robert  Waterman UNLV Senior  6'2 290

Ryan Norton Clemson Junior  6'3 280

Ryan  Kelly Alabama Junior 6'5 296

Sal Conaboy Maryland Senior 6'4 290

Shane McDermott Miami Senior  6'4 296

Steven  Gurrola Arizona  Senior  6'2 291

Taylor  Lasecki SMU Junior  6'3 296

Tom Farniok Iowa State Senior  6'4 300

Tommy Olson Minnesota Senior  6'4 301

Ty Darlington Oklahoma Junior  6'2 298

Valerian  Ume-Ezeoke New Mexico State Senior  6'2 285

While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee used these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:

• Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)

• Sporting News (SN)

• Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11- man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee's policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All- America teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 17, 2014.

* * *

About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about its story.