Biggest 2020 NFL Hall of Fame Snubs

On Wednesday, the NFL announced its 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Importantly, this is the Centennial Class coinciding with the NFL’s 100th anniversary. This year is the largest inductee pool ever at 20. The NFL announced 15 inductees, with the remaining five to be announced on the eve of Super Bowl LIV. 

However, there have been some notable snubs this year. While the likes of Harold Carmichael and Bill Cowher will be inducted, there are some standout omissions. Below we will list the top five snubs from the Pro Football Hall of Fame Centennial Class. 

Importantly, none of the names below will be among the five seniors announced on the eve of the Super Bowl. If you were thinking of placing a bet on the season showpiece, now’s the time to find your Betrivers promo code ahead of the big game on Feb. 2. 

Here are the biggest omissions from the 2020 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Drew Pearson – Wide receiver (Cowboys, 1973-83)

Drew Pearson is probably thinking about what he needs to do to get an induction. He’s the last remaining member of the NFL 1970s All-Decade Team that has not punched his ticket into the Hall of Fame. Considering his prominence through the decade, it’s a massive snub that he has never been inducted. 

It’s not just Pearson’s position on the decade team that warrants inclusion in the Hall. He was also part of three All-Pro selections and three Pro Bowls between 1974 and 1977. He won Super Bowl XII with Dallas and averaged 18.1 yards per reception during the Cowboys’ winning season. 

Pearson not only stacks up against his peers in the 1970s, his record in the playoffs is up there amongst the absolute best in NFL history. During the postseason, Pearson grabbed 68 passes and made 1,131 yards. Furthermore, he contributed eight touchdowns during his 21 postseason games. 

Roger Craig – Running back (49ers, 1983-90; Raiders, 1991; Vikings, 1992-93)

Roger Craig was one of the best NFL players of the 1980s and stacks up as an all-time great. That makes his ongoing omission from the Pro Football Hall of Fame baffling. He ranked in the NFL 1980s All-Decade Team based on a decade where he broke new ground in the sport. Indeed, Craig became the first person in NFL history to catch and rush over 1,000 yards in a campaign (1985).

Craig’s versatility at running back helped him to four Pro Bowls between 1985 and 1989. He was also a part of the dominant 49ers team of the late 80s. He rushed 1,502 yards in 1988 as the 49ers lifted their third bowl of the decade. A year later the team added a fourth and Craig’s yards were vital as San Francisco went back-to-back at the Super Bowl. 

Other stats that back Craig’s Hall of Fame credentials include becoming the first person to hit three touchdowns in a single Super Bowl. 

So, the Pro Football Hall of Fame has continued to snub Pearson and Craig, two super-bowl winners who made their respective teams of the decade. Legends of the game who should really have been inducted years ago.